Chaffey’s Lock Community Hall
The Chaffey’s Lock Community Hall was built on bake sales, dances, and raffles, and with nails, boards and labour donated by the community. At the helm of this tremendous community effort was the Chaffey’s Lock Women’s Institute, which succeeded in its goal of opening the hall in time for the 100th anniversary of the Rideau Canal in 1932. The institute added a kitchen in 1978.
Over the years, the hall has seen a wide variety of events, including the Women’s Institute’s annual bazaar, dances, potluck suppers, and concerts. Returning soldiers were celebrated at a banquet, and 4-H meetings, conferences, limbo competitions, fish fries, music jams, and fast-paced euchre games regularly filled the hall.
In 2013, The Chaffey’s Lock Hall was closed as it needed extensive repairs. However, the community spirit that built the hall in 1932 was alive and well, and Chaffey’s Lock rallied behind its gathering place. Thanks to extensive fundraising, a Trillium Grant, and hard work by the Township of Rideau Lakes and the Chaffey’s Lock Hall Board, it reopened a few months later, featuring a number of improvements. Today, the hall is operated by the Chaffey’s Lock and Area Heritage Society and is the site of concerts, community gatherings, and private events. There’s even a coffee shop. Nestled in the heart of the community, the Chaffey’s Lock Community Hall continues to flourish.
1661 Chaffeys Lock Road, Elgin, Ontario.